25thframe.co.uk > Crime | Mystery | Thriller > The Name of the Rose

The Name of the Rose No one younger than 18 may see an 18 film in a cinema.

Adults should be free to choose their own entertainment. Exceptions are most likely in the following areas:

  • where the material is in breach of the criminal law, or has been created through the commission of a criminal offence
  • where material or treatment appears to us to risk harm to individuals or, through their behaviour, to society. For example, the detailed portrayal of violent or dangerous acts, or of illegal drug use, which may cause harm to public health or morals. This may include portrayals of sadistic violence, rape or other non-consensual sexually violent behaviour
  • which make this violence look appealing; reinforce the suggestion that victims enjoy rape or other non-consensual sexually violent behaviour; or which invite viewer complicity in rape, other non-consensual sexually violent behaviour or other harmful violent activities
  • where there are more explicit images of sexual activity in the context of a sex work (see right) In the case of video works, which may be more accessible to younger viewers, intervention may be more frequent than for cinema films.


The Name of the Rose
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Year: 1987
UK release date UK release: 23rd January 1987
 BBFC Age Rating:  18 age rating
UK total gross
  £1.5 Million
Jean-Jacques Annaud
Sean Connery
F. Murray Abraham
Christian Slater
Helmut Qualtinger
Elya Baskin
Michael Lonsdale
Volker Prechtel
Feodor Chaliapin Jr.
William Hickey
Michael Habeck
Urs Althaus
Valentina Vargas
Ron Perlman
Leopoldo Trieste
Franco Valobra
Vernon Dobtcheff
Donald O'Brien
Andrew Birkin
Lucien Bodard
Peter Berling
Pete Lancaster
Dwight Weist
Franco Adducci
Niko BrĂ¼cher
Aristide Caporale
Fabio Carfora
Peter Clos
Mario Diano
Fabrizio Fontana
Rolando Fucili
Valerio Isidori
Luigi Leoni
Armando Marra
Maurizio Mauri
Ludger Pistor
Francesco Scali
Maria Tedeschi
Andrea Tilli
Ennio Lollainni
Emil Feist
Francesco Maselli
Renato Nebolini
Antonio Cetta
Franco Covielleo
Daniele Ferretti
Sabatino Gennardo
Luciano Invidia
Mauro Leoni
Massimiliano Scarpa
Umberto Zuanelli
Mark Bellinghaus
David Furtwaengler
Patric Kreuzer
Kim Rossi Stuart
Lars Bodin-Jorgensen
Franco Diogene
Giordano Falzoni
Eckehard Koch
Gina Poli
Gianni Rizzo
Lothar Schonbrodt
Vittorio Zarfati
Carlo Bianchino
Eugenio Bonardi
Pietro Ceccarelli
Franco Marino
Hans Schodel
Peter Welz
Alberto Capone
Gaston Bonheur
Franco Pistoni